WiFi on Raspberry Pi

Before, I used my macbook to connect internet from raspberry pi, the macbook as access point and it share internet connection from the UTP connector to WiFi connector. I don’t like this sharing mechanism, the pi became dependent with laptop, and I need the pi board with can run stand alone including the internet connection, so I decided to use WiFi dongle instead of Ethernet cable.

First, I checked the verified peripherals of USB WiFI Adapters that support and tested well on raspberry pi, you can find it inside site http://elinux.org/RPi_VerifiedPeripherals, and I end up with this device TP-LINK TL-WN725N. It supports for Wireless N Network, and because of the speed 150Mbps, it doesn’t need to require powered USB hub. As display on the verified peripherals : “TL-WN725N Works out of the box on Raspbian 2012-12-16 without a powered USB hub. This adapter is based on the Realtek RTL8188CUS chipset.”

2013-03-23 22.52.57

This adapter it self was very small and light, it fits well with the raspberry pi. I don’t like those bulky adapter, sometime the its weight make the raspberry pi board became not balance.

After I plugged the adapter into the pi board, it was like the verified peripherals site said, it runs perfectly. I done some testing like below.

Screen Shot 2013-03-23 at 11.16.54 PM

As you can see , the pi recognized the adapter with ID 0bda:8176 Realtek Semicondutor (cut) 802.11n WLAN Adapter.

Ok, for the next step we can bring the interface up, but before we do the configuration . Usually the wireless interface will named with prefix “wlanX” and X is the running number for example wlan1, you can validate by type $ ifconfig or $ iwconfig . In this case , I would like to connect the pi with my router wireless that has ssid value “biskandar” with the password same value with the one. For the setup I will edit file /etc/network/interfaces like below.

Screen Shot 2013-03-23 at 11.25.51 PM

After the configuration done, we can bring the interface up by type $ sudo ifup wlan1 , and it will display like below .

2013-03-23 23.29.27

Yipeee… , the network is on now, my pi got a new IP Address from my wireless router, it was 192.168.2.11, and became live to internet now, cool. Ok, to prove it, I can done some ping test to overseas server like google.com .

Screen Shot 2013-03-23 at 11.32.02 PM

Nicely done now, everything seems perfect and run smoothly. From now on, my pi board can say “adios” to macbook. Its said “Thank you mac for that you done for me since i was kid, right now i became an adult, and i don’t need you anymore to access the world.” Sweet :-)